State’s First Emergency Medicine Fellowship begins at Erlanger

Chattanooga, TN – The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education recently approved the first Emergency Medicine Fellowship in the state of Tennessee for the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga (UTCOMC), based at Erlanger. The program will begin operations on July 1, 2014, for the upcoming academic year.

Erlanger and UTCOMC is also the home base for the first Emergency Medicine residency program within the UT system, serving as a model of emergency medicine education programs throughout the state and region. “The addition of the state’s first Emergency Medicine Fellowship at Erlanger showcases our commitment to the pre-hospital environment and trauma care,” said Kevin M. Spiegel, FACHE, Erlanger President and CEO.

Mr. Spiegel, Erlanger Chief Medical Officer Jim Creel, MD, and UTCOMC Dean David C. Seaberg, MD, presented white coats to the new faculty of the Division of EMS under the Department of Emergency Medicine during a recent ceremony at Erlanger. The EMS Faculty and Fellows, pictured above, include Paul Arnold, NRP; Rick Boatwright, EMT-IV; Robert Brooks, EMT-P, FACHE; Ron Buchheit, MD; James H. Creel, Jr., MD, FACEP; Paul Courtwright, MD; Joseph Holley, MD; Mark King; Patrick McDougal, MD; Tony Sylvester, EMT-P; Robbie Tester, NRP, FP-C, CMTE; and Ken Wilkerson, EMT-P, CEMSA.