UTCOMC recognizes residents during annual Research Week

Chattanooga, Tenn. – Eight medical residents from the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga were recently recognized for their dedication in research during their term at Erlanger Health System.

Twenty presentations were heard by faculty, residents, medical students, Erlanger Board members, and administrative staff, involving nine case reports and eleven research projects. Judges included Dr. Beth Choby, Associate Professor for the St. Francis Family Medicine Program in Memphis; Dr. Matthew Good, Clinical Assistant Professor for the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga Department of Pediatrics and practicing physician with the Highland Pediatrics Group; and Dr. Paul Stumpf, Professor, Chair, and Residency Program Director for the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Dr. Robert C. Coddington, the first Associate Dean and leader for the campus, was the inspiration and driving force behind establishing the event in 1983 to encourage and recognize scholarly activity and research in Chattanooga. It was an honor for Dr. Coddington to attend this year’s event and assist Dr. David C. Seaberg, Dean of University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga, in presenting the awards.

Other dignitaries who attended the event included Erlanger Board members Donnie Hutcherson, Russell King and Jim Worthington; Associate Dean and DIO, Dr. Robert Fore; former Associate Dean, Dr. Ron Blankenbaker; Director of Research for the campus, Dr. Greg Heath; and Dr. Eric Gratias (Pediatrics) and Dr. Francis Fesmire (Emergency Medicine). Drs. Gratias and Fesmire participated as the Scientific Review Committee, evaluating the scientific validity of research proposals and serving as the selection committee for initial abstracts submitted for the annual event.

The following physicians were recognized for their research work during their residency.

Case Report Posters

3rd Place: Fernando Windemuller, MD, Department of Pediatrics
“First Report of Biopsy Proven Acute Interstitial Nephritis Associated with Escitalopram”

2nd Place: Jennifer Hamm, MD, and Vanessa Slots MD, Department of Pediatrics
“Medical Child Abuse: When a Father Suffocates His Child”

1st Place: G. Ralston Major II, MD, Department of Surgery
“Use of CT Perfusion Imaging and CT Angiography in the Selection of Hyperacute Stroke Patients to Undergo Emergent Carotid Endarterctomy”

Research Projects (both posters and oral presentations)

4th Place: Michael Johnson, MD, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
“Non-Operative Management of Retrocalcaneal Pain with AFO and Stretching Regimen”

3rd Place: Hal Parker, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine
“Feasibility of Pre-Hospital Transmission of the 12-lead ECG Using a Camera Capable Cellular Phone for Identification of ST-Segment Elevation Acute Myocardial Infarction”

2nd Place: Richa Sood, MD, Department of Pediatrics
“High Flow High Humidity Nasal Cannula Therapy for Respiratory Failure in Infants with Bronchiolitis”

Best Overall Research Presentation and Winner of the Robert C. Coddington, MD, Award for Research Excellence:

Erik Martin, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine
“Improving Risk Stratification in Chest Pain Patients: The Erlanger HEARTS Score”

Pictured are: Front row (L to R): Robert Coddington, MD, Associate Dean Emeritus; Richa Sood, MD, Senior Pediatrics Resident; Jennifer Hamm, MD, Senior Pediatrics Resident; G. Ralston Major II, MD, Second Year Surgery Resident. Back Row (L to R): Erik Martin, MD, Senior Emergency Medicine Resident, Recipient of the Robert C. Coddington, MD, Award for Research Excellence for the Best Overall Research Presentation; Michael Johnson, MD, Chief Resident, Orthopaedic Surgery; and Hal Parker, MD, Chief Resident, Emergency Medicine.

The University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga is part of the statewide academic health system: The University of Tennessee Health Science Center. The Memphis, Knoxville, and Chattanooga campuses are separately accredited by the ACGME to sponsor residency and fellowship programs in a variety of specialties. The primary clinical affiliated institution in Chattanooga is Erlanger Health System. For more information about the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga, visit: www.utcomchatt.org, or email lizjones@uthsc.edu.

As the flagship statewide academic health system, the mission of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center is to bring the benefits of the health sciences to the achievement and maintenance of human health, with a focus on the citizens of Tennessee and the region, by pursuing an integrated program of education, research, clinical care, and public service. In 2011, UT Health Science Center celebrated its centennial: 100 years advancing the future of health care. Offering a broad range of postgraduate training opportunities, the main UTHSC campus is located in Memphis and includes six colleges: Allied Health Sciences, Dentistry, Graduate Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy. The UTHSC campus in Knoxville includes a College of Medicine, College of Pharmacy, and an Allied Health Sciences unit. In addition, the UTHSC Chattanooga campus includes a College of Medicine and an Allied Health Sciences unit. Since its founding in 1911, UTHSC has educated and trained more than 53,000 health care professionals on campuses and in health care facilities across the state. For more information, visit www.uthsc.edu.